Home > About MSHS > English > Principal's Message

Principal's Message

P2019.jpg

Dear Marists


Happy 2022 to all Marists and welcome back to school!  To our new Primary 1 and Secondary 1 Marists, welcome to Maris Stella High School!

“Do not fear, for I am with you, do not be afraid, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my victorious right hand.”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Isaiah 41:10


2021 started with the glimmer of hope that the COVID-19 pandemic would move into an endemic and life would return to pre-2020 days. Marists trained in anticipation of the return of the National School Games and the Singapore Youth Festival for the secondary section. What was most anticipated I believe would be the loosening of Safe Management Measures (SMM) so that greater student interaction could take place in class, school and beyond.  Alas, with the comeback of the COVID-19 virus in the form of the Delta strain, our hope of returning to normalcy in school was largely dashed. In face of the more potent virus and the threat to public health that it would bring, SMM were tightened and the National School Games were cancelled for some categories. Our programmes moved to online platforms and we strived to offer Marist meaningful and engaging learning experiences.                                                                                                                                

While Marists and Marist Educators were tested, in terms of the strength of our character in face of restrictions and cancellation of school programmes, especially the social interactions that schooling offers, we were united in our common experience of going through the tough conditions together. Most significantly, Marists and Marist Educators experienced the abiding love of God and His ceaseless mercy and blessings. Marists demonstrated the school motto of “courage”, which was the theme for 2021, seeking to face challenges courageously as well as giving of your best and achieving excellent outcomes. The affordances of technology allowed us to hold rosary sessions after school hours during the Marian months of May and October. The daily rosary sessions organised by Marist Educators and helmed by primary Marists, provided a space for prayer and faith renewal. 


“A Marist school is a centre of learning, of life, and of evangelising. As a school, it leads students “to learn to know, to be competent, to live together, and most especially, to grow as persons.””

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   In the Footsteps of St Marcellin Champagnat


This statement is quoted from “In the Footsteps of St Marcellin Champagnat”, which articulates the Marist Educational Mission. As a Marist school, we are committed to lead students to learn, to interact and to be leaders and as individuals, to make use of existing circumstances as platforms for learning. In 2022, we will put emphasis on developing Marists through 2 key areas:

1.       Inculcating values and nurturing Marists to be Gentlemen of Faith, Vision and Service, guided by the 10-Year Marist Education Framework. We will continue to seek various platforms to engage Marists in learning and serving. The external COVID-19 situation and the disruption caused to the lives of others in our community provide excellent opportunities for Marists to learn to be other-centred and to use their talents and resources to serve others.

 2.       Developing the talents of Marists. We believe that all Marists can learn and can excel. We will continue to strengthen our talent development programmes at the primary and secondary levels. At the same time, we will be introducing new Talent Development Programmes for our lower secondary students. Student leadership development is another area that we will continue to strengthen with greater emphasis on collaboration between the primary and secondary student leaders. We would like Marists to step forward to play a bigger part in co-creating the school culture and build the Marist school ethos in our school.


To this end, in generating the school theme for 2022, we conducted a brain-storming session with representatives from the Student Council Exco. At the end of the discussion, 4 themes were short-listed for the student body to vote and this emerged as the choice of Marists:

                                                                                                                                       

                                                                                                                                                  Uplift Another, Together.


This theme exhorts Marists to encourage their peers and to appreciate their peers for their strengths, and also to carry their peers in their areas of weakness as members of the Marist Family. Marists uplift another, by “carrying” the other as they would during a game or during team projects. Marists are exhorted to help one another as brothers and live the Marist spirit.

We expect 2022 to be challenging and strongly believe that as a Marist family, uplifting another, we would be able to not just weather the ups and downs together, but thrive. We have complete faith that Marists will respond positively to learning opportunities and grow to be gentlemen of faith, vision and service.


God bless!

Mrs Woo Soo Min

Principal
4 Jan 2022

Home > About MSHS > Chinese > Principal's Message

Principal's Message

校长寄语


P2019.jpg

各位亲爱的海星学子:

我在此祝你们2022年快乐!欢迎你们回到学校来。我们小一和中一的新生,欢迎你们加入海星中学,成为海星大家庭的一份子!

“你不要害怕,因为我与你同在;不要惊惶,因为我是你的神。我必坚固你,我必帮助你;我必用我公义的右手扶持你。”

                                                                                                                                                                                以赛亚书 41:10

 

2021年,我们对前景抱着一丝期盼,希望在全世界肆虐的冠状肺炎会成为地方性流行病,生活会回到正轨,恢复到2020年之前的日子。基于这样的期盼,你们积极投入训练,为停办了一年的全国学校运动会和新加坡青年节的回归做好备战工作。而我最期盼的是安全管理措施 (SMM)的放宽,这样你们才会有更多互动交流的机会。唉!可惜的是,随着冠状病毒以德尔塔(Delta)毒株的形式卷土重来,我们对学校恢复正常运作的希望基本破灭。面对更强大的病毒和它所带来的公共卫生威胁,安全管理措施再次收紧,一些全国学校运动会的项目也被取消,你们在竞赛场上一展才华的机会也跟着落空。在线平台成为我们为你们开展各类学习活动的主要平台之一。利用这个平台,我们努力为你们提供既有意义又具吸引力的学习体验。


在疫情期间,你们和海星教育工作者在性格上所展示的韧性受到了考验,也获得了证明。学校的课程与活动,尤其是那些为你们提供社交互动的学习活动因疫情关系而受到限制或被取消。面对挑战,我们排除万难,使你们的学习不会因此而受影响。我们不但安然地渡过了2021年,更由于我们在面对挑战时,众志成城共度难关,我们的凝集力更强,也更为团结一致了。最重要的是,我们体验到了上帝永恒的爱和祂无休止的怜悯和祝福。2021年学校的主题为“勇”,这也是我校的校训之一。去年,你们在此校训与主题的引导下,在面对疫情时,展示了无比的勇气。你们不畏困难,全力以赴,追求卓越的表现。先进的科技让我们能够在5月和10月的圣母玛利亚月中,在课余时间举行玫瑰经念珠会。这个由海星教育工作者发起,并由我们小学部的海星学子主持的每日玫瑰经念珠会,为祈祷和信仰的更新提供了空间。


“圣母会学校”是一所学习、生活和福音传播中心。这学校带领学生们“学习知识、技能,特别是教导学生在成长中待人接物的道理””。

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        追随圣马塞林•尚巴纳的足迹


上述的话是引自 《圣母昆仲会教育的愿景》,它阐明了圣母昆仲会的教育使命。海星中学作为一所圣母昆仲会学校,我们利用现有的环境作为学习的平台,致力于引导你们积极投入学习、互动和培养你们成为领导者。在2022年,我们将强调通过2个关键领域来栽培你们:


1.       灌输价值观。以10年海星教育框架为指导,培养你们成为“恪守信念、富有远见、服务人群的谦谦君子”。我们将继续寻求各种平台使你们的学习更为多姿多彩,通过各种管道使你们能够积极投入服务人群。冠状肺炎对我们社区其他人的生活造成干扰,身为海星学子的你们应该学习以他人为中心,多为别人着想,在行有余力,利用自己的才能和资源为他人服务。

2.       发展你们的才华。我们相信所有海星学子都有能力学习,都可以成为出类拔萃的人才。我们将继续加强小学和中学阶段的人才培养计划。同时,我们将为中一和中二的学生制定新的人才发展计划。学生领袖能力的发展也将会是我们继续加强的另一个领域,今年我们会更加强调中小学部学生领袖的合作。总的来说,我们希望你们能够挺身而出,在共同创造学校文化和校风方面发挥更大的作用。


为此,在构思2022年的学校主题时,为了让学生有更大的话语权,我们与学生理事会的代表进行了一次头脑风暴会议。集思广益后,有4个主题入围,供你们投票,下面就是我们最终选出来的2022年学校主题:

                                                                                                                                         Uplift Another, Together.

心手相连     奋勇共进


这个主题的宗旨是希望你们将彼此视为兄弟,互相鼓励,互相欣赏对方的长处;在弱点上互相包容、互相帮助,就像你们在竞赛或团队项目中一样,彼此激励、扶持,力求卓越的表现,将海星精神发挥至淋漓尽致。


2022年,将是一个具挑战性的一年,但我们坚信海星大家庭的每一份子,只要我们能秉持及发扬今年主题的精神,“心手相连     奋勇共进”,我们一定能能闯过逆境,渡过难关,并茁壮成长。我们相信你们会积极把握任何学习机会,将自己培养成一个“恪守信仰、富有远见和服务人群的谦谦君子”。

God bless!

愿上帝赐福于我们!


辜素敏女士
校长
2022年1月4日